Saturday, October 17, 2020

The Genie’s Gift - #MGlit #fantasy w/mythology of The Arabian Nights - #99c sale!

99 cent sale!

The Genie’s Gift is a lighthearted action novel set in the fifteenth-century Middle East, drawing on the mythology of The Arabian Nights.

Thirteen-year-old Anise, shy and timid, dreads marrying the man her father chooses for her. Her aunt tells her about the Genie Shakayak, the giver of the Gift of Sweet Speech. He lives high atop Mount Quaf, many weeks’ journey across a barren desert. The way is barred by a dozen dangers and trials. But those few who cross the desert and defeat the guardians of the mountain receive their reward. From that day forward, their words drip like honey from their lips, charming all who hear them, and no one can deny them anything they ask.

Anise is determined to find the genie and ask for the gift, so she can control her own future. But the way is barred by a series of challenges, both ordinary and magical. How will Anise get past a vicious she-ghoul, a sorceress who turns people to stone, and mysterious sea monsters, when she can’t even speak in front of strangers? Will she ever reach the top of Mount Quaf—and if she does, can she convince the Genie to give her the gift?

For ages nine and up. A teacher-reviewer says, “Because this book presents realistic life in 15th C Arabia, it could easily fulfill CCSS needs to integrating literature into the Social Studies curriculum.” Get Lesson Plans for teaching or homeschooling.

Chris Eboch is the author of over 60 books for children, including nonfiction and fiction, early reader through teen. Her novels for ages nine and up include The Eyes of Pharaoh, a mystery in ancient Egypt; The Well of Sacrifice, a Mayan adventure; The Genie’s Gift, a middle eastern fantasy; and the Haunted series, about kids who travel with a ghost hunter TV show, which starts with The Ghost on the Stairs. Her writing craft books include You Can Write for Children: How to Write Great Stories, Articles, and Books for Kids and Teenagers, and Advanced Plotting.

Learn more at https://chriseboch.com/ or her Amazon page, or check out her writing tips at her Write Like a Pro! blog.

Wednesday, October 14, 2020

#Recipes from the Cat Café plus a free #SweetRomance novella #MFRWorg #Romance

The Furrever Friends Sweet Romance series features the workers and customers at a small-town cat café, and the adorable cats and kittens looking for their forever homes. 
These sweet romances will leave you with the warm, fuzzy feeling of cuddling a purring cat. 

"Recipes from the Cat Café" provides 13 of the recipes mentioned in the novella and books 1-3: 

Thumbprint Cookies
Chai Tea Shortbread Cookies
Cookie Dough Brownies
Easy Espresso Brownies
Rocky Road Fudge Bars
Salted Caramel Blondies
Cherry or Cranberry Scones
Cookie Dough Cupcakes
Boston Cream Cupcakes
Chocolate Cherry Cupcakes
Apricot Shortbread
Lemony Frosted Sour Cream Cookies
Gingery Molasses Cookies

Subscribe to my newsletter to get them free! 

You'll also get Lions and Love at the Cat Café, a free 35-page story set in the world of the Furrever Friends cat café, free for subscribing. 

Sign up for the Kris Bock newsletter here!


To learn more about the cat café series or my other work, visit www.krisbock.com or Kris Bock’s Amazon US page or Amazon UK page. (For other countries click here.) You can also follow me on Amazon (go to my author page and click on the "Follow" button to the left) or BookBub (button in the upper right corner) if you only want New Release Alerts.


The Furrever Friends Sweet Romance series features the workers and customers at a small-town cat café, and the adorable cats and kittens looking for their forever homes. Each book is a complete story with a happy ending for one couple (and maybe more than one rescued cat). These sweet romances will leave you with the warm feeling of cuddling a purring cat. See the series page on Amazon.

Monday, October 12, 2020

Here's your chance to win Gift Cards! Plus get #romance #FallReads free for review or free w/newsletter signup! #contemporaryromance #sweetromance

Pre Holiday Mega Giveaway: 

a Rafflecopter giveaway
Follow authors on various social media to gain entries for the giveaway. You might learn about some great new authors and books – as well as win free books or gift cards!

Check out more new authors and books – for free!


Contemporary Romance - Free for Review: 

https://storyoriginapp.com/to/VFF7qPb
If you love contemporary romance and could use some books by new-to-you authors, check out this group. It has billionaires and blue-collar workers, romantic suspense and sweet romance stories – all free in the hopes you'll leave an honest review.




Super Sweet Romance: 

https://storyoriginapp.com/to/I71P9hO
In stressful times, a sweet romance can comfort. Get "Reader Magnets" – stories, novellas, or full novels that are free in exchange for signing up for the author's newsletter. (Unsubscribe any time.) You'll find a story set in the world of my cat café, a rom-com short with a dog, several beaches, and a comedy about a kindergarten Christmas program.

Kris Bock writes novels of romance, mystery, and suspense. Her Furrever Friends Sweet Romance series features the employees and customers at a cat café. Watch as they fall in love with each other and shelter cats. Get a free 10,000-word story set in the world of the Furrever Friends cat café when you sign up for the Kris Bock newsletter. You’ll also get a printable copy of the recipes mentioned in the cat café novels.

Kris also writes romantic suspense set in the Southwestern U.S. If you love Mary Stewart or Barbara Michaels, try Kris Bock’s stories of treasure hunting, archaeology, and intrigue in the Southwest. Learn more at www.krisbock.com or visit Kris Bock’s Amazon US page or Amazon UK page. (For other countries click here.) 



Monday, October 5, 2020

Check out #FallReads some free, some in #KindleUnlimited - lots of #Romance plus suspense and more!

Whispers in the Dark
 is romantic suspense with archaeology and intrigue among ancient Southwest ruins. Reviewers give it a 4.3 star average: “A great read with a strong plot line & likeable characters!” Get your copy today, on sale for $.99 until Oct. 7 at Kris Bock’s Amazon US page or Amazon UK page

Historical Fiction Reads: 
 https://storyoriginapp.com/to/N7npV5m

Get your KU #FallReads – Lots of historical romance, some fantasy, time travel, mysteries, a military fiction with Alexander the Great ... You'll also find a female Pinkerton detective, a Regency retelling of Jane Eyre, Greek Myths, my middle grade fantasy The Genie's Gift, and many more in Kindle Unlimited.


Clean, Small Town Women's Fiction & Romance: Free for Review: https://storyoriginapp.com/to/TwGTFYC

Check out fun romance books you can get for free! All are sweet / clean titles set in small towns. (Reviews are not required but you can claim more free books if you read/review/share your review links on the site.) 


October Romance Book Fair:  https://storyoriginapp.com/to/mnOTcb0

Small towns, beautiful beaches, big cities, Paris, cat cafés, a hurricane, a Druid's portal ... Find a great new read! Whether you like cowboys (Yeeha!) or princes, aliens or tattooed Mafia bad boys, dog lovers or cat fans, you'll find great Fall Reads in this bunch of books! Many are 99 cents and some are free.


Kris Bock writes novels of romance, mystery, and suspense. Her Furrever Friends Sweet Romance series features the employees and customers at a cat café. Watch as they fall in love with each other and shelter cats. Get a free 10,000-word story set in the world of the Furrever Friends cat café when you sign up for the Kris Bock newsletter. You’ll also get a printable copy of the recipes mentioned in the cat café novels.


Kris also writes romantic suspense set in the Southwestern U.S. If you love Mary Stewart or Barbara Michaels, try Kris Bock’s stories of treasure hunting, archaeology, and intrigue in the Southwest. Learn more at www.krisbock.com or visit Kris Bock’s Amazon US page or Amazon UK page. (For other countries click here.) 

Thursday, October 1, 2020

#99c SALE Oct. 1-7: Whispers in the Dark, #romance and #suspense among Southwest archaeology ruins #RomanticSuspense

“This book was a delight from start to finish!”

Archaeology student Kylie Hafford craves adventure when she heads to the remote Puebloan ruins of Lost Valley, Colorado, to excavate. Romance isn’t in her plans, but she soon meets two sexy men: Danesh looks like a warrior from the Pueblo’s ancient past, and Sean is a charming, playful tourist. 

The summer heats up as Kylie uncovers mysteries, secrets, and terrors in the dark. She’ll need all her strength and wits to survive—and to save the man she’s come to love. 

99 cents/99 pence SALE Oct. 1-7: Whispers in the Dark:

“All in all, a great read, with a strong plot line, and likeable characters! I highly recommend this author!”

Whispers in the Dark, romantic suspense set in the Four Corners region of the Southwest, will appeal to fans of Mary Stewart, Barbara Michaels, Nora Roberts, and Terry Odell. This title stands alone and is not part of a series.

“The southwest setting and attention to authentic details will make the reader feel like he/she knows the place once the book is finished. This story has a few twists and turns that catch you off-guard and provide a satisfying finish.”

 Get Whispers in the Dark on Amazon!

Kris Bock’s Amazon US page
Kris Bock’s Amazon UK page

Excerpt:   I had to move. The thought battered at the back of my mind, a panicky whisper that I tried to ignore. I had to run. Hide. He was after me. I had to get away.

    I clenched my teeth hard, as if I could bite back the pain and fear. Memories crowded in, like panicked ghosts wailing at the edges of my mind. Guns, strange men. Dangerous, threatening men. Danesh trying to protect me, the gun going off. My own helpless, panicked flight. Helpless. Worthless. Unable to fight, unable even to scream.

    I tried to focus on this one moment, the physical sensations of my aching body as I lay on the hard, damp ground. The cold against my bare calves, the lump of rock pressing into my shoulder. That focus helped keep me grounded in the present. Never mind that this present wasn’t a place I wanted to be. I had to deal with reality. But I didn’t have to also deal with nightmares. Not now.

    The little whimpers in my throat faded to short gasping breaths. I held on to this moment, this single slice of reality. Now to move forward. I didn’t have to like it, but I had to do it. One step at a time. 

Get Whispers in the Dark for 99c/99p for the Kindle, Oct. 1-7!


“This book has a little bit of everything. It has mystery, suspense, action, drama, romance, and some comic moments. The setting is unique and interesting.”

“Characters you can care about, an absorbing plot, a little romance with mystery too. I read it in record time, just couldn't put the book down and really got into the story.”

Kris Bock’s Amazon US page
Kris Bock’s Amazon UK page

Kris Bock writes novels of mystery, suspense, and romance, many with outdoor adventures and Southwestern landscapes. She has lived in ten states and one foreign country but is now firmly planted in the Southwest, where many of her books are set. Readers have called her novels “Like Nancy Drew for grown-ups” and “Smart romance with an Indiana Jones feel.”

Kris's Furrever Friends Sweet Romance series features the employees and customers at a cat café. Watch as they fall in love with each other and shelter cats. Get a free 10,000-word story set in the world of the Furrever Friends cat café when you sign up for the Kris Bock newsletter. You’ll also get a printable copy of the recipes mentioned in the cat café novels.