Monday, January 10, 2022

Get An Accidental Detective short story and bonus material free when you sign up for Kris Bock's newsletter. #mystery #bookbuzz #amreading

The Case of the Missing Monkey and other short mystery stories

An Accidental Detective short story plus bonus material

Get a free short story and bonus material when you sign up for Kris Bock's newsletter.

This free collection starts with a ten-page mystery short story set in the world of “The Accidental Detective” series, followed by information about the first books in the series, Something Shady at Sunshine Haven and Something Deadly on Desert Drive, plus the first chapter of book 1. After that are three fun, short stories originally written for children. 

The Accidental Detective series: War correspondent Kate Tessler has followed the most dangerous news stories around the world. But can she survive going home?

Book 1: Something Shady at Sunshine Haven - out April 7

Injured in a bombing, Kate returns to her hometown in Arizona to recover. For the first time in her life, she's starting to feel her age (49), even though she's living like a teenager again: staying with her father, trying to understand why her sister resents her so much, and running into people who still think of her as Kitty.

Seeing her mother in an Alzheimer's unit is the hardest part – until an old friend asks her to investigate suspicious deaths at that nursing home. Is a self-appointed "Angel of Mercy" killing patients to end their suffering? Are family members hastening their inheritance? Is an employee extorting money and removing the witnesses? Kate uses her journalism skills to track clues, but the puzzle pieces simply won't fit.

If Kate can't uncover the truth, her mother could be next on the killer's list.

Praise for Something Shady at Sunshine Haven

“I just LOVE your protagonist and the cast of characters that you built.” – Sinclair Jayne, author

“A really fun read and the perfect set up for a great series.” – Lisa Honeycutt, author/illustrator

“Book one was a good read, and I’m looking forward to a series with Kate Tessler.” – Teresa Fannin, writer

“So much fun! Her wry notes always make me laugh. The mystery seems so impossible to solve. You have so many details and such a limited ability for the heroine to get answers, which makes the story even more engaging. I love her dry sense of humor.” –  Emma J. Wallace, author

Kris Bock writes novels of mystery, suspense, and romance with outdoor adventures and Southwestern landscapes. She has lived in ten states and one foreign country but is now firmly planted in the Southwest, where many of her books are set. Learn more at www.krisbock.com or visit her Amazon page. Kris writes for children under the names Chris Eboch and M. M. Eboch. She has published over 100 books for young people, including ghostwriting for two children's mystery series.

Kris Bock

Website
Blog
Twitter
Facebook
Pinterest
Instagram
GoodReads Author Page
BookBub
Amazon US page or Amazon UK page. (For other countries click here.)

Friday, January 7, 2022

Whispers in the Dark is action-packed #RomanticSuspense, now only #99cents or free in #KindleUnlimited! #Romance #Suspense #romsuspense #RomanticSuspense

“Whispers in the Dark has a hefty dose of adventure and mystery, as well as a strong main character. There were plenty of plot twists, and the ending was not at all what I anticipated! I highly recommend this author!”

Whispers in the Dark is action-packed romantic suspense, now only 99 cents or free in Kindle Unlimited! Visit Kris Bock’s Amazon US page or Amazon UK page. (For other countries click here.)

"The glimpses of life in the southwest and the ruins of the Ancient Ones were fascinating. The main character’s emotional journey is well-drawn and satisfying. A quick read that should please plenty of readers!"

Young archeologist Kylie Hafford heads to the remote Puebloan ruins of Lost Valley, Colorado, to excavate. Her first exploration of the crumbling ruins ends in a confrontation with a gorgeous, angry man who looks like a warrior from the Pueblo’s ancient past. If only Danesh weren’t so aggravating… and fascinating. Then she literally stumbles across Sean, a charming, playful tourist. His attentions feel safer, until she glimpses secrets he’d rather keep hidden.

The summer heats up as two sexy men pursue her. She finds mysteries – and surprising friendships – among the other campground residents. Could the wide-eyed woman and her silent children be in the kind of danger all too familiar to Kylie?

Mysterious lights, murmuring voices, and equipment gone missing plague her dig. A midnight encounter sends Kylie plummeting into a deep canyon. She’ll need all her strength and wits to survive. Everything becomes clear – if she wants to save the man she’s come to love and see the villains brought to justice, she must face her demons and fight.

Whispers in the Dark, romantic suspense set in the Four Corners region of the Southwest, will appeal to fans of Mary Stewart, Barbara Michaels, Nora Roberts, and Terry Odell. This title stands alone and is not part of a series.

“The southwest setting and attention to authentic details will make the reader feel like he/she knows the place once the book is finished. This story has a few twists and turns that catch you off-guard and provide a satisfying finish.”

Kris Bock writes novels of suspense and romance, many involving outdoor adventures and Southwestern landscapes.  Learn more at www.krisbock.com or visit Kris Bock’s Amazon US page or Amazon UK page. (For other countries click here.) Get a free 25-page story set in the world of the Furrever Friends cat café when you sign up for the Kris Bock newsletter