Friday, July 28, 2017

New Mexico's Monsoon Rains

People are often surprised to hear the term "monsoon" associated with New Mexico. But we do have monsoon rains. 

Some definitions of monsoon specifically refer to the seasonal winds of the Indian Ocean and Southern Asia. A more general definition for monsoon is a seasonal shift in wind direction and pressure distribution, which causes a change in precipitation. In other words, the monsoon is not the rain itself, but monsoon patterns can bring rain. (More info here.)

Anyway, in New Mexico, we call the summer rainy season monsoon season. We often get short, very heavy rains in the afternoon or evening. As an example, the following three pictures were taken in a ten-minute timespan. 

It had been raining for perhaps 15 minutes before I took this first picture. The brownish area is muddy water. It rained so hard and fast that the water didn't have time to soak in, so it's flowing off of nearby scrub desert on to the golf course.

 The water is spreading and will soon join the water that is pooling up toward the lower left in the picture.

Now the golf course is half bog and half shallow lake. It won't be much fun for the golfers tomorrow!

Kris Bock lives in New Mexico, where she enjoys hiking, rock climbing, and watching the sunset from her patio. Her home office looks out on nature, complete with distracting wildlife such as roadrunners and foxes. Her BFA in photography is used mainly to show Facebook friends how lovely the Southwest is.

Kris writes novels of suspense and romance with outdoor adventures and Southwestern landscapes. Fans of Mary Stewart, Barbara Michaels, and Terry Odell will want to check out Kris Bock’s romantic adventures. “Counterfeits is the kind of romantic suspense novel I have enjoyed since I first read Mary Stewart’s Moonspinners.” 5 Stars – Roberta at Sensuous Reviews blog

Read excerpts at www.krisbock.com or visit her Amazon page. Sign up for the Kris Bock newsletter for announcements of new books, sales, and more.

The Mad Monk's Treasure, “Smart romance with an 'Indiana Jones' feel,” is currently free at all e-book retailers.